My somewhat quirky views as I gaze at the world around me!

DECEMBER SUNRISE

The information accompanying this photo tells me that I took it on 17 December 2013 (one of my 5 my beautiful sisters’, Carole’s, birthday) at 8:42:39.   Sunrise at that hour I can handle.  2 months later, today, sunrise was at 7:37.  And it will just keep coming earlier and earlier until June 22, the Summer Solstice.  Because Ireland is so far north, the summer nights are very short and the days quite long.  In the summer, the “lighting up time” (when you need to turn your driving headlights on) can be 11 p.m. or later!  And, the sky starts lightening again by 4 a.m.  I wear a sleep mask!

Copyright 2014                     Mary Jane E Clark

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

